“Puns are the highest form of literature.”
– Alfred Hitchcock
On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed the Paid Sick Leave Act into law. The Act, effective 10/29/2018, will require all employers to provide paid sick leave to employees. Here’s what you need to know:
- All New Jersey employers must provide paid sick leave to their employees
- Employees will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year
- Employees must be paid for paid sick leave at the same rate (and with the same benefits) they normally earn
BenefitCorp’s HR clients with offices in New Jersey are already undergoing an audit of paid leave and attendance policies to ensure compliance with the Act. If your company does not have BenefitCorp’s HR protections, contact a consultant here to make sure your business is up-to-code with all local, state, and federal regulations.